HomeCLC FAQ - Basics: Installation, data, system resourcesData and filesHow can I move my CLC data?

2.6. How can I move my CLC data?

New hard drives, machines, or server storage space may result in the need to move your CLC data: the data used as input for analysis tasks as well as the results generated. This FAQ article provides instructions to move your CLC data files to a different location.

 

Move your CLC data to a new storage location

The following are instructions for moving your CLC Data to a new location.

  1. Locate the CLC Data you wish to move on your hard disk. Please see the FAQ: Where is my CLC Workbench data? for instructions on how to do this.

  2. Create a new directory with a unique name in the location you wish for your data to be stored. For example, if you are copying the default CLC_Data folder to D:\, name this new directory to something like D:\CLC_Data_D, or another name that does not already exist as a Data Location in the Navigation Area of the Workbench. Please create this directory using system tools such as Window's Explorer, Mac's Finder, or any other file browser available on your system.

  3. Copy the data from the location it is stored (step 1) to the new desired location (step 2). You may do this via the command line using tools such as copy or rsync or any other system tool you are comfortable using like the graphical interfaces suggested in step 2.

  4. Add the new Data Location to the Navigation Area of the Workbench:
    • Open the Workbench
    • Go to the top Toolbar | New | Location | New File Location
    • Choose the folder that you have copied the data to (step 2 and 3)

  5. Reindex the new Data Location
    • In the Navigation Area, right-click on the folder for the newly added Data Location.
    • Click the Location | Rebuild Index  option from the pop-up menu. Please do not run any jobs within the Workbench after beginning the reindexing process.
    • Restart the Workbench after the indexing task has completed.

  6. Check the data in the new location is all present and can be opened successfully in the Workbench. This is to ensure the data copied successfully and was not corrupted in the copy process. If data is missing or corrupt please re-copy this data.

  7. Remove the old Data Location from the Workbench

  8. Delete the data (located in step 1) from disk using system tools.

 

Please be aware that the CLC Data location folders are meant for hosting the CLC (.CLC) data, not raw data. The raw data, such as the raw sequencing reads (.fastq, .sff, etc.) or the exported data from the Workbench (.BAM, .fasta, etc) should be stored in a separate folder or directory that is outside of the CLC data location.

 

BLAST databases can be moved similarly to what is described above. The only difference is that the BLAST database location is specified by using the Manage BLAST Databases tool:

  • Create a new directory and copy the desired BLAST database data  to this new location

  • Add the new BLAST database location(s) with the Manage BLAST Databases tool

  • Remove the old copy of the BLAST database folder via the Manage BLAST Databases tool

  • Delete the old BLAST databases from the old location on the hard drive

 

Please also check the FAQ pages in this Data and Files chapter for related topics.

 

Data access permissions

If you are moving your CLC Data such that it can be used on a different system or instance of the Workbench, please make sure the system user account used to run the Workbench software has complete access to all data files. This includes hidden metadata files (index files) in the Data Location added.  

If the CLC Data will be accessed by different users where different system user accounts are running the Workbench, please set folder permissions on the new CLC Data Location directory with recursive or inheritance settings such that all expected users will have read and write access to the data. Please adjust these settings on the parent folder instead of individual files to ensure all the contents of the CLC Data Location folder are accessible by all user accounts. You may need to contact your organization's IT support staff to assist you with this.

 

Application Files

CLC data, that which is analyzed in the Workbench, is stored in a different location from the application binaries and user setting files by default. This means that, with default settings, if you uninstall the software, the CLC data will remain on your hard drive. It also means that in order to backup the CLC data, you will need to include the CLC Data Locations. The location of the CLC data is described in the FAQ: Where is my CLC Workbench data?

More information about the locations of CLC related files is described in the Deployment Manual: Where do we put things

 

 

 

 

 

 

Knowledge Tags

Related Pages
This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful